RSS

Anchorage garage sale

18 May

This box was better than any toy you could give my child. Gabriella carried this box around the whole weekend. She brought inside the house, outside the house, colored it with Crayons and used it as a table.

It may seem strange to drive more than 350 miles to help with a garage sale, but that’s how I roll. A young friend of mine is headed to Europe, so I thought I’d support the effort by helping with a garage sale that’s going to help fund the trip. I thought I was really going to have to work, but my friend, Shelley made things easy. She had everything organized and a team of young folks to work the sale. They organized stuff and dealt with the customers. Easy, right?! Anytime a garage-saler would ask a price, we’d yell to Sami or Mathew. They’d throw out a price and if it was agreeable, they took the garage-saler’s money. Basically, I ended up hanging out by a garage sale all day long, saying “Hi” here and there and straightening up the kids’ toys that my daughter romped in for several hours. It was pretty chill.

Anchorage was sunny and windy. Luckily, the wind wasn’t chilly, so it made for a pretty great day outside. Some of our garage-sale team even got a little pink from the sun. I, on the other hand, didn’t get sun-kissed. I’m still mega white. Don’t know why, but it takes a lot to turn this white skin brown!

Being in Anchorage made me miss living there. I so enjoyed my time in the city. Oh, well. I’ll be back soon. I’m helping with phase two of the garage sale on Memorial Day weekend. If you’re in Anchorage check it out! Seriously.

Good night!

All the work at the garage sale made this girl thirsty. Note the box right by her side!

The one time Gabriella stood still during the whole garage sale. This lasted about two seconds.

I took this photo of myself at about 10 a.m. on Saturday morning at my friend Shelley’s house in Anchorage. The point of the trip was to help her with a garage sale fundraiser.

Shane chilled out in his bouncy chair. Sometimes he slept and other times he kept himself busy rocking and kicking his feet.

Shane wasn’t as excited as I was about the little baby maraca I found in the garage sale stuff.

Look how organized this garage is AFTER the sale. It will all be pulled out again for another sale soon!

Sami was posing for a whacky picture. Brittany is slaving away on a box of old linens in the background.

Tarp fun! Really, one blue tarp kept two teenagers entertained for about six minutes. Do you believe it?

Before the two tried to fly away with the tarp!

Despite the warning, many a garage-salers went wonky on the mysterious drop-off just before the garage.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on May 18, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags:

One response to “Anchorage garage sale

  1. Emily

    May 22, 2011 at 10:35 am

    You look great, Amy! And your kids look happy and fun. I hope your friend does well with her fundraising efforts and enjoys her trip abroad!

     

Leave a comment