RSS

Quick trip to Valdez

09 Jun

 

Looking off the deck into the Port of Valdez. This was the first photo I took from the "Glacier Spirit."

On Friday, Adam, Gabriella, four puppies, and I loaded up and headed down the Richardson Highway to Valdez. Our truck was so stuffed, that Gabriella was completely surrounded by sleeping bags, camping food, backpacks and more in her car seat in the back seat. She seemed to sorta like it, though, which is strange.

Anyway, we went to Valdez because I had scooped up some awesome Stan Stephens Cruise tickets for my family. We got a bomb deal on a seven-hour wildlife-viewing cruise into Prince William Sound, along with a free night’s stay in the local Best Western. We were jazzed! We don’t often get to Valdez, and the thought of seeing a bunch of sea otters and whales had us giddy. Well, at least me anyway. I’ve always had a thing for sea otters, and I used to claim to want one for a pet. Now that I know that they can get up to five feet long, I’m glad no one ever granted that childhood wish!

So, we rolled into Valdez and met up with Adam’s sister and mother up from Seattle. After a bunch of visiting we bedded down for the night, so we’d be all bushy-tailed for the long cruise on Saturday. When I awoke on Saturday, I couldn’t believe my eyes. The National Weather Service had claimed weather in Valdez would be rainy and in the 30s to 50s, depending on the wind. However, there was absolutely no trace of rain! The sun was a big blazing ball in the sky, and it was actually hot right on the harbor! I was thankful. 

We boarded the “Glacier Spirit” and were handed information about the various animals we might see on the voyage to Columbia Glacier. There were tons! And as soon as we were leaving the Port of Valdez, there were humpback whales! It was awesome! In all, we saw whales, tons of sea otters (hooray!), hundreds of sea lions at a couple of different haul outs, sea birds galore, and some amazing Dall’s porpoises! The porpoises were a real treat. Heck, I didn’t even know that we had porpoises in Alaska, so it was cool when one was swimming right by me on the edge of the boat. They’re really cool because they’re black with white markings. 

In addition to the wildlife we saw just amazing scenery through the Valdez Narrows, and then as we got closer to Columbia Glacier, the icebergs were a trip. Valdez is such a beautiful, beautiful place. Between the mountains, and the ocean, and the waterfalls, and the wildlife, I’d have to say it’s about one of the most gorgeous places I’ve ever been. 

But seven hours on a boat is a long, long time. My family was done at about four hours.

Next time I go to Valdez, I want to rent a kayak and explore the sound that way. I can’t imagine anything more exhilarating than gliding through those waters. However, if a humpback whale breached beside me, I would probably shit my spray skirt! Despite the fact that that could happen, I’m willing to take my chances!

Surrounded by icebergs near the terminus of Columbia Glacier.

Gabs checking out the scenery from inside the boat.

Dora and Gloria, Adam's mom and sister, joined us for the trip to Valdez. They then followed us back up to Fairbanks.

Adam and Gabriella walking along the Valdez Harbor before we boarded the boat. See what I mean about the great weather?!

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on June 9, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: ,

Leave a comment